Jenny’s Chili…with a twist

It smelled yummy, it tasted yummy, and it’s a secret!

Jenny is my dad’s wife and a few years back so kindly shared her 1st prize chili recipe! My dad & Jenny attend a yearly chili cook off with her family. My dad’s first year competing he failed…miserable! I personally love my dads chili. He puts several meats and veggies in it, but no beans. He still using chili seasonings though! So anyways, a few years back when I was looking for a good chili asked Jenny for her prize wining recipe, instead of my dads. Hey?!? it was a first prize dish! It was for a winter family sleepover we were having back in Michigan. Everyone loved it! I followed the recipe to a T!

This time when I made it, I switched a lot of things around, but Jenny still deserves full credit for this. Since this recipe is a lot different then the original, I will provide you with what we did!

1 LB of turkey burger
1 cup chopped white onion
1 cup chopped green pepper
2 stalks of celery chopped
1 can tomato soup (no water)
a couple jalapeno slices
28 oz can of diced tomatoes
14 or 16oz can of chili beans in a sauce mix
14 or 16ox can of kidney beans (drained & rinsed)
Salt, pepper, garlic powder & tablespoon of chili powder

Brown turkey burger, onion, pepper & celery together. In a crock pot, add other ingredients, simmer until hot.

A side note on last nights dinner… I asked Eric to go to the store to pick up some RF cheddar cheese, light sour cream, and baked/reduced fat tortilla’s. I should have detailed the list a bit more, because he came home with actual tortilla’s! He grabbed healthy one’s, but I thought in my head tortilla chips! LOL!! We tried the chili in a soft shell tortilla, and it was way to messy! We both polished off a big bowl, froze some for later, and a spare container in the fridge for Eric’s lunch today.

At 7:30 this morning I began to prepare the roast! The garlic was strong, the pan was hot, and sliced shallots were flying… Don’t worry, everyone is safe and round…and slowing cooking away!


Comment

